Bug 146672 - Don't send an MDN to tell me I've read a mail that I wrote myself
Summary: Don't send an MDN to tell me I've read a mail that I wrote myself
Status: RESOLVED DUPLICATE of bug 89855
Alias: None
Product: kmail
Classification: Applications
Component: general (show other bugs)
Version: 1.9.7
Platform: Compiled Sources Linux
: NOR normal
Target Milestone: ---
Assignee: kdepim bugs
URL:
Keywords:
Depends on:
Blocks:
 
Reported: 2007-06-11 17:54 UTC by Jonathan Marten
Modified: 2007-06-11 20:12 UTC (History)
0 users

See Also:
Latest Commit:
Version Fixed In:
Sentry Crash Report:


Attachments

Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.
Description Jonathan Marten 2007-06-11 17:54:34 UTC
Version:            (using KDE KDE 3.5.7)
Installed from:    Compiled From Sources
OS:                Linux

If a mail with a disposition notification request is in the outbox, either queued or in the process of being sent, then reading the mail will trigger sending an MDN back to the user.  This can happen without the user explictly opening the mail if the preview pane is in use and there is only one message in the outbox, or if a queue of mail is being sent when the message with the MDN request reaches the top of the list.  If the option is set to "Always send" or "Deny", then the MDN is sent without user confirmation. 

The same happens if a message with a MDN request is saved in the drafts folder, and later reopened.

Suggested resolution: since normally the "special" folders - outbox, sent-mail, drafts and templates - only contain messages the user has originated, no MDNs need be sent for messages in these folders.
Comment 1 Jonathan Marten 2007-06-11 17:56:56 UTC
Also should have included "trash" in the list of special folders, of course.
Comment 2 Thomas McGuire 2007-06-11 19:05:27 UTC
See also bug 89855.
Comment 3 Jonathan Marten 2007-06-11 20:12:44 UTC
Duplicate, suggested resolution copied to there


*** This bug has been marked as a duplicate of 89855 ***