Bug 407845 - After installing Samba, recommend rebooting
Summary: After installing Samba, recommend rebooting
Status: RESOLVED FIXED
Alias: None
Product: kdenetwork-filesharing
Classification: Unclassified
Component: general (show other bugs)
Version: unspecified
Platform: Other Linux
: NOR normal
Target Milestone: ---
Assignee: Nate Graham
URL:
Keywords:
Depends on:
Blocks:
 
Reported: 2019-05-22 21:42 UTC by Nate Graham
Modified: 2020-03-16 14:06 UTC (History)
2 users (show)

See Also:
Latest Commit:
Version Fixed In: 20.04.0


Attachments

Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.
Description Nate Graham 2019-05-22 21:42:03 UTC
Some distros require that users creating Samba shares be added to a special group. Arch-based distros are one such example: https://wiki.manjaro.org/index.php?title=Using_Samba_in_your_File_Manager. On Linux, group changes require a reboot, so even once all the bits are installed, it won't actually work until the machine is rebooted. We should recommend that and provide a button in the config UI that allows the user to do it easily.
Comment 1 Nate Graham 2019-05-28 17:10:31 UTC
Patch: https://phabricator.kde.org/D21466
Comment 2 Nate Graham 2020-03-15 01:05:28 UTC
Git commit 8a104aa4fb4194708868fb58a5036ffa2eaec31d by Nate Graham.
Committed on 15/03/2020 at 01:05.
Pushed by ngraham into branch 'master'.

Recommend rebooting after installing Samba

Summary:
After Samba is installed, very frequently it will not work correctly until the machine is
rebooted. One potential reason is when the installed package has made group membership
changes, which only take effect after a reboot.

This patch implements a reboot recommendation along with a button to reboot the machine.
Both are shown immediately after Samba has been installed.

Because some expert users may understand the technical details of what's going on, the
reboot is only recommended, not required. If the window is closed and then re-opened,
the normal Samba sharing configuration UI is displayed instead of the reboot prompt.

Added a new function rather than using a Lambda because it may be useful for additional
purposes too (e.g. https://bugs.kde.org/show_bug.cgi?id=407846)
FIXED-IN: 20.04.0

Test Plan:
http://s1.webmshare.com/Ry55q.webm (not uploaded to Phab due to file size limit)

1. Remove Samba
2. Go to share a folder
3. Click "Install Samba"
4. After the installation has completed, click the "Restart" button and see that the machine reboots

5. Remove Samba again
2. Go to share a folder
3. Click "Install Samba"
4. Close the window and re-open it instead of rebooting as recommended
5. See that the Samba sharing config UI is all there

Reviewers: #vdg, #frameworks, #dolphin, apol, sitter

Reviewed By: sitter

Subscribers: anthonyfieroni, sitter, bruns

Differential Revision: https://phabricator.kde.org/D21466

M  +25   -1    samba/filepropertiesplugin/sambausershareplugin.cpp
M  +5    -0    samba/filepropertiesplugin/sambausershareplugin.h

https://commits.kde.org/kdenetwork-filesharing/8a104aa4fb4194708868fb58a5036ffa2eaec31d
Comment 3 Jetchko Jekov 2020-03-15 21:31:51 UTC
I am sorry but that's wrong. You don't need a reboot for change in group membership to be taken into account, you need only to perform logout/login sequence.
Comment 4 Nate Graham 2020-03-16 14:06:16 UTC
It's easier to just tell the novice user that they need to reboot, so you don't need to explain the technical details. Advanced users who understand what's going on can log out/log-back-in manually.