Bug 356837 - One cannot clear history when first time is not confirmed
Summary: One cannot clear history when first time is not confirmed
Status: RESOLVED DUPLICATE of bug 336053
Alias: None
Product: klipper
Classification: Applications
Component: general (show other bugs)
Version: 5.5.1
Platform: Mageia RPMs Linux
: NOR normal (vote)
Target Milestone: ---
Assignee: Martin Flöser
URL:
Keywords:
Depends on:
Blocks:
 
Reported: 2015-12-17 15:30 UTC by Piotr Mierzwinski
Modified: 2015-12-23 11:46 UTC (History)
1 user (show)

See Also:
Latest Commit:
Version Fixed In:


Attachments

Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.
Description Piotr Mierzwinski 2015-12-17 15:30:40 UTC
I copied to clipboard several text strings, let it be 5. I open clipboard and click "Clear history" icon. On question "Are you sure?" I reply "No". So I have still full clipboard. Again I open clipboard and try to click "Clear history" icon. Unfortunately I can't. Probably icon is disabled and clipboard "is thinking" that is empty, whereas I can see all my copied text strings.
OK. I copy another text strings:
- using copy option from context menu, 
- using Ctrl+C,
- highlighting text in konsole
I have several new strings in clipboard (I see them when I open it). Again I try clear history using properly button. Unfortunately without success. It does not respond.
The workaround is remove entry one by one - clicking for every one "Remove from history".

Reproducible: Always

Steps to Reproduce:
1. Copy couple of text strings
2. Try to clear history, but reply "No" for confirmation
3. Try to clear history again

Actual Results:  
Button "Clear history" doesn't respond, so there is not possible to clear history.
One cannot clear history even after copying new text strings.

Expected Results:  
Button "Clear history" should clear history.

Plasma 5.5.1. KFrameworks 5.17.0. Qt-5.5.1
Packages coming from Mageia 6 Cauldron.
Comment 1 Martin Flöser 2015-12-17 16:42:40 UTC
cannot reproduce, works fine here.
Comment 2 Piotr Mierzwinski 2015-12-17 18:01:11 UTC
Strangely. My "Clear history" button passed in state "readonly" and I can't use it even after relogin and even after restart the system. Only I can remove items one by one :-(.

The only one configuration what I found is located in ~/.local/share/klipper and this is history: "history2.lst". I'm not aware about other configuration maybe there is another?
Anyway. When I removed this configuration, and removed plasmoid and added it again, still I can't use "Clear history" button. It is locked for me :-(.
How could I restore it properly?
Comment 3 Piotr Mierzwinski 2015-12-18 02:05:22 UTC
And one more thing. On confirmation window I checked "Don't ask again". Without this checking "Clear history" button worked. After that stopped. I reproduced it on new working configuration.
Comment 4 Martin Flöser 2015-12-18 06:44:56 UTC
> On confirmation window I checked "Don't ask again"

That explains it. You selected don't ask again and no. So the automatic selection is to always apply no when clicking the button. I need to check where the config is stored.
Comment 5 Piotr Mierzwinski 2015-12-18 17:28:23 UTC
I did it accidentally and blocked myself possibility to cleaning history in the future. Of course the final solution is remove/rename all configuration, but this is not much nice - we are losing our entire configuration :(.

I think this option is quite dangerous for regular users. Checking it doesn't warn user that any further cleaning will be blocked/doesn't possible. Regular user can lock cleaning history in this way and will don't know how to restore it (there is no any option in configuration). I don't think good solution for him/her would be looking for properly option in some configuration file. Not everyone are the geeks who like "to poke around the files" :/.

I thing good solution could be reset this setting after relogin of user. I think this is solution chose by many users (working before on the most popular OS).
Comment 6 Martin Flöser 2015-12-18 19:17:06 UTC
> I thing good solution could be reset this setting after relogin of user. 

That would not be "don't ask again". I'm sorry for the bad experience you had about it. I don't like those dialogs myself either, but as an engineer I'm not in a position to question the feature in general.

For the usage here I'm wondering whether the ask again is needed at all and even more whether the dialog is needed. Needs support from UI experts, though.
Comment 7 Piotr Mierzwinski 2015-12-19 01:34:00 UTC
Now there is no problem with clearing configuration, because Plasma 5 in this moment is not my "production" system/desktop. I just test it and from time to time encounter bugs, most often causing crash plasmashell.

OK. So if you can, could you please tell me some about workaround/temporary solution fixing this. For example what should I change and in which configuration file or any other workaround, if exists.

BTW.
I've made small research in configuration files. In directories: ~/.config and ~/.local I was looking for strings: "clipboa" and "Clipboa". I found some occurrences in:
~/.config/plasma-org.kde.plasma.desktop-appletsrc looking like this:
[Containments][1][Applets][5][Configuration][Containments][9][Applets][13]
immutability=1
plugin=org.kde.plasma.clipboard
I'm not sure is this refers for unlocking "Clear history" function, because I can see similar settings for couple of other plugins :/.
And couple in ~/.config/kglobalshortcutsrc, where one in [plasmashell] section, is looking like this:
clear-history=none,none,Wyczyść historię schowka
But I think this refers to keyshortcuts, and none value means that there is no one shortcut assigned to this function.
I was looking also following occurrences: "klipper" and "Klipper", but I have not found nothing interested.
Conclusion: I don't know where is this hidden. :/
Comment 8 Christoph Feck 2015-12-23 11:46:09 UTC

*** This bug has been marked as a duplicate of bug 336053 ***