Bug 324640 - After defining a section of a pic, and the attempt of saving this _section_ : will not work
Summary: After defining a section of a pic, and the attempt of saving this _section_ :...
Status: RESOLVED NOT A BUG
Alias: None
Product: digikam
Classification: Unclassified
Component: ImageEditor-Save (show other bugs)
Version: 3.3.0
Platform: Ubuntu Packages Linux
: NOR normal (vote)
Target Milestone: ---
Assignee: Digikam Developers
URL:
Keywords:
Depends on:
Blocks:
 
Reported: 2013-09-08 06:11 UTC by Axel Krebs
Modified: 2022-02-03 04:10 UTC (History)
1 user (show)

See Also:
Latest Commit:
Version Fixed In: 7.5.0


Attachments

Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.
Description Axel Krebs 2013-09-08 06:11:41 UTC
working on a pic, selecting and trying to save the _section_: failure!!

Reproducible: Always

Steps to Reproduce:
1. opening image editor
2. selecting a section of that pic
3. trying to save this section as a new version does _not_ work
Actual Results:  
when trying to save, I can digiKam will save the _whole_ pic instead of the section. 

Expected Results:  
When I select a frame of a pic, I do this intentionally, of course. 
And I need to invest time to do so. 
Therefore, digiKam does _not_ work unbiasly.



Thi issue is related to versionen strongly, not only to image editor.. 

Any version of a original pic need urgently to be dealt _together_ an d_not_ as an individual item
Comment 1 caulier.gilles 2013-09-08 06:47:20 UTC
In editor crop selection and use Save as New Version 

Gilles Caulier
Comment 2 Axel Krebs 2013-09-08 17:08:54 UTC
(In reply to comment #1)
> In editor crop selection and use Save as New Version 
> 
> Gilles Caulier

Hi Gilles:

I arrange my tool bars in a way, that _only_ the ICON "save as new version" is avaliable. 

For this reason, I made up a bug report, as image editor offers the chose a section, but _NOT_ save _this_ section as a new file.

(The original <after fresh installation> icon save could overwrite the original files, what would be nonsense and dangerous!)

How can I deliver a prove to you?

Please consider again.

Thank you


Axel
Comment 3 caulier.gilles 2013-09-12 12:26:57 UTC
(The original <after fresh installation> icon save could overwrite the original files, what would be nonsense and dangerous!

==> this depend if you activate versionning or not...

Gilles Caulier
Comment 4 Axel Krebs 2013-09-13 16:13:20 UTC
Am 12.09.2013 14:26, schrieb Gilles Caulier:
> https://bugs.kde.org/show_bug.cgi?id=324640
>
> Gilles Caulier <caulier.gilles@gmail.com> changed:
>
>            What    |Removed                     |Added
> ----------------------------------------------------------------------------
>              Status|VERIFIED                    |RESOLVED
>          Resolution|REMIND                      |INVALID
>
> --- Comment #3 from Gilles Caulier <caulier.gilles@gmail.com> ---
> (The original <after fresh installation> icon save could overwrite the original
> files, what would be nonsense and dangerous!
>
> ==> this depend if you activate versionning or not...
>
> Gilles Caulier
>
Of course, I activate versioning.
 
Originals have the highest value- many of these can not be gotten again.

Usually, I do describel all details seeming relevant to me.

Still, I do not have an satisfying situation. You twice repromend me,
setting my bug report on "resolved" without even asking me to clarify
potentially open questions.

I spend lots of time to bug-report whenever I see  problem or a bug. So,
I am questioning myself, if there is an interest in bug reports to
further refine that software or not.

Thank you for your answer


Axel