Bug 318415 - One should not be able to log out without a warning if Discover is installing packages
Summary: One should not be able to log out without a warning if Discover is installing...
Status: RESOLVED FIXED
Alias: None
Product: Discover
Classification: Unclassified
Component: discover (show other bugs)
Version: 5.12.4
Platform: Ubuntu Packages Linux
: NOR wishlist
Target Milestone: ---
Assignee: Jonathan Thomas
URL:
Keywords: usability
Depends on:
Blocks:
 
Reported: 2013-04-15 23:55 UTC by Thomas Sisson
Modified: 2018-06-01 13:36 UTC (History)
4 users (show)

See Also:
Latest Commit:
Version Fixed In: 5.12.6


Attachments

Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.
Description Thomas Sisson 2013-04-15 23:55:50 UTC
I realize that this only happens if you forget that you are installing packages, and one should know better. However, sometimes one forgets what is running.

I was installing updates using Muon. I went to do things in other windows. I decided to log out. The system logged out. I logged back in and got a update notification. Unfortunately, I had unfinished updates. There was a lock file preventing updates and there was a partial folder.

Reproducible: Always

Steps to Reproduce:
1. Install packages in Muon.
2. Log out.
3. Log back in.
4. Install updates.
Actual Results:  
The system logged out. I logged back in and got a update notification. Unfortunately, I had unfinished updates. There was a lock file preventing updates and there was a partial folder.

Expected Results:  
When one tries to log out while an installation is running, there should be a warning from Muon that installation has not finished. One should be given an option to cancel the installation and log out or stay logged in and finish the installation.

I'm running Kubuntu 13.04 Raring Ringtail. I realize that this is something that may rarely happen and that Linux is not supposed to be idiot proof or try to be Microsoft Windows. I just feel like this is something that would be helpful and save headaches for users and those trying to help them when they don't know how to fix this situation created by a user's mistake. (I did though.)

With more people moving to Linux and the popularity of KDE and Ubuntu, there will be more users likely to make this same mistake which could be avoided with a warning feature.

I suppose there could be something set even deeper within APT, but since that is a back end, I don't know if that is preferable. I believe it would be preferable, workable, and desirable to add this to Muon as the front end instead.
Comment 1 Jonathan Thomas 2013-04-16 00:20:32 UTC
This feature had been implemented but got lost in the shuffle when we separated out APT stuff into its own library for 2.0. It'll be back for 2.1. Sorry!
Comment 2 Thomas Sisson 2013-05-06 00:21:54 UTC
Can this be flagged as a security upgrade or somehow marked as important in the new version? This would make distributions, like Ubuntu, that don't use rolling upgrades (sic) mark it as an update. This is especially helpful for LTS users who don't want to wait until 2014 to get the updated Muon.
Comment 3 Nate Graham 2017-12-11 00:16:38 UTC
Sounds like this has been fixed now, both because the fix was eventually released, and also because this is Discover, not Muon.
Comment 4 Øystein Steffensen-Alværvik 2018-04-20 08:23:34 UTC
I am able to log out while Discover is installing an application. Discover/KDE does not warn me; logout happens immediately. This is on Neon User Edition 5.12.4.

Steps:
1. Open Discover and search for an app (like KStars).
2. Select "Install" from the app's page and enter your password.
3. Select the "Tasks..." button in the sidebar (no. 3 starting from the bottom) to verify that Discover has started to download/install the package.
4. Log out of your session (I pressed my laptop's power button, and then selected "Log out".)

What happened:
5. Neon logged out immediately.

What I *wish* would happen:
5. KDE/Discover should warn me that packages are currently installing, and provide me with the option to "Cancel installation and log out" or "Cancel logout and finish installation".

I am daring myself to reopen this bug. Feel free to comment.

(I know the original reporter tested this in Muon and not Discover, but the bug is filed against Discover, so I am keeping this bug).