Bug 273806 - the last state of groups should be restored
Summary: the last state of groups should be restored
Status: RESOLVED DUPLICATE of bug 277216
Alias: None
Product: telepathy
Classification: Unclassified
Component: contactlist (show other bugs)
Version: git-latest
Platform: openSUSE RPMs Linux
: NOR normal
Target Milestone: 0.4.0
Assignee: Telepathy Bugs
URL:
Keywords:
Depends on:
Blocks:
 
Reported: 2011-05-21 18:13 UTC by Alin M Elena
Modified: 2012-07-06 12:47 UTC (History)
1 user (show)

See Also:
Latest Commit:
Version Fixed In:


Attachments

Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.
Description Alin M Elena 2011-05-21 18:13:27 UTC
Version:           git-latest (using Devel) 
OS:                Linux

as it is now the groups by default are closed when the cl starts.. making it a nuisance to open all of them by hand each time.

comments from d_ed on irc

[17:09] <d_ed> alin: sure, if you think it should - open a bug report
[17:09] <d_ed> alin: for bonus points "it should open as whatever it was last closed with"
[17:09] <d_ed> on a per group basis

Alin

Reproducible: Didn't try




OS: Linux (x86_64) release 2.6.38-4-desktop
Compiler: gcc
Comment 1 Martin Klapetek 2011-05-23 14:59:27 UTC
After spending some time on this bug, I came to conclusion, that this is not an easy/straightforward task.

I can save the expand state per group, no problem. But I can't easily reuse it on new contact list window, because I have no way of telling, that the model finished reading all the data (and in fact it never does). So the solution would be to connect to rowsInserted() signal and then check if that row is a group and if so then check the config and expand it accordingly. 

But that would be active for all newly added groups, ie. after some time you connect some account with group "G1", which is saved to be expanded. So the rowsInserted() will be emitted, the group name will be checked and the group itself expanded. The problem is, that it may feel like an unconsistent behaviour - only some groups are expanded of the newly connected account and some are not. The user might think - what the heck? Why not all of my groups are expanded? (He might have forgotten that he had this group expanded some time ago)

So how to actually do this?
Comment 2 Martin Klapetek 2011-07-07 10:27:54 UTC

*** This bug has been marked as a duplicate of bug 277216 ***