Currently, even when a bug report or change request gets closed (resolved, marked as duplicate), one's votes do not get cancelled or transferred to the original/first bug report.
So what I'd expect is:
- when an item (bug report or change request) gets resolved, all the votes should be zeroed,
- when an item is marked as duplicate of another item, then all the votes should be automatically transferred to the other item.
It could save the users quite some time.
Not sure if that's the right product, but well..
*** Bug 293560 has been marked as a duplicate of this bug. ***
As I wrote in the duplicate: when an item is marked as duplicate of another item, an automated transfer could lead to some problems: the votes can not just be "moved". In case of reevaluating the bug, and finding out that it really is NOR duplicate, you don't know how many votes you have to give back again.
Better IMHO would be to check the votes for the actual bug, then recursively check all the duplicates and their votes, and double-check whom the votes of the dupes belong. If there are no overlapping user votes, just add them (but dynamically, while counting, don't "move" them to the new bug). If they overlap (20 votes for bug X from user A, and 10 votes from the same user for bug U which is a duplicate of X - in this case it should NOT be added, that way one could achieve more than the usual 20. In this special case the dup-votes of the user should be canceled - or maybe not the one of the dup, but the fewer ones??)
*** This bug has been confirmed by popular vote. ***
This is a WONTFIX for the upstream (Bugzilla)
Thank you for the bug report.
As this report hasn't seen any changes in 5 years or more, we ask if you can please confirm that the issue still persists.
If this bug is no longer persisting or relevant please change the status to resolved.