Bug 160258 - Save As promts to save changes to original document
Summary: Save As promts to save changes to original document
Status: RESOLVED FIXED
Alias: None
Product: kile
Classification: Unclassified
Component: general (show other bugs)
Version: 2.0
Platform: unspecified Linux
: NOR normal with 10 votes (vote)
Target Milestone: ---
Assignee: Michel Ludwig
URL:
Keywords:
: 166352 (view as bug list)
Depends on:
Blocks:
 
Reported: 2008-04-02 12:46 UTC by Paul Weaver
Modified: 2008-07-13 12:53 UTC (History)
1 user (show)

See Also:
Latest Commit:
Version Fixed In:


Attachments

Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.
Description Paul Weaver 2008-04-02 12:46:16 UTC
Version:           2.0.0 (using 3.5.9-5.fc7 Fedora, Fedora release 7 (Moonshine))
Compiler:          Target: i386-redhat-linux
OS:                Linux (i686) release 2.6.23.15-80.fc7

* Make changes to file foo.tex
* Select "Save As" from the "File" menu
* Request to save file as foo_2.tex

This gives me a dialogue asking if I want to discard my changes to foo.tex. Clicking "discard" or "cancel" continues with the "Save As" action, and leaves foo.tex unchanged from the last save. Selecting "save" overwrites my original file foo.tex and writes the new file foo_2.tex.

This behaviour is, to my mind, counterintuitive, as if I am performing a "Save As" action, I am not about to lose any data! If I am then presented with a dialogue warning me that I am about to lose my data, I am reluctant to click discard as I don't want to lose all my hard work. But if I click save I will actually lose the old version of my document! Cancel continues with the "Save As", which is also counterintuitive.
Comment 1 hawkwing 2008-06-30 21:22:01 UTC
I also find this _very_ annoying.  One should not have to click 'cancel' to perform the originally desired action.  If you are worried about people losing data you can just have the newly-saved file open in a new tab and leave the original open as well for the user to do as he or she wishes with it.

Comment 2 Michel Ludwig 2008-07-01 20:54:58 UTC
Fixed in Kile 2.0.2.

The underlying problem is a bug in the 'setEncoding' method in KatePart 3.x, which enforces a reload every time the encoding changes and the user is hence presented a document-modified dialog.
Comment 3 Thomas Braun 2008-07-13 12:53:07 UTC
*** Bug 166352 has been marked as a duplicate of this bug. ***